FF11 Gil of Asura server on sale: Weekly 2 Days Promotion!
Quick Checkout

By clicking Buy Now, you agree to our TOS and Privacy Policy.

Available Games
Available Games

FFXIV Beginners Guide in 2020

Penny October 15th, 2020 Final Fantasy XIV    FFXIV Gil    FFXIV Power Leveling    FFXIV Gil Help   

Final Fantasy XIV is getting on in age, but as it grows older, it becomes a more refined and popular game. FFXIV can be also overwhelming for beginners to play. Here's our guide of tips and tricks to help with jobs, leveling, and more. For more FFXIV guides, make sure to visit us---MmoGah, at which you can also buy FFXIV Gil with cheap price and fast delivery.    


The video below is from DrybearGamers. AII of the content of this article is quoted from this video.




Be mindful when picking a server as they are grouped into data centers. There's no interaction between servers on different data centers. So if you're looking to play with your friends, make sure you're in the same grouping.



Classes in Final Fantasy 14 are called jobs and can be confusing at first so let's break it down. These are your beginning jobs that you will pick from when you make a character. They each advance into their endgame form at level 30 and we'll get more abilities. Here's what each job turns into once you get there.







Thaumaturge---Black Mage

Arcanists---summoner and Scholar

Conjurer---White Mage


What's cool is that one character can freely switch between all jobs in the game, that is to say, jobs are defined by their soul item and the weapon you're using, so once you switch to the correct gear set, you will become of that job. So you don't have to make any alt characters to play in Final Fantasy 14. These next jobs are unlocked later in the game and cannot be selected at the character creation, so you have to select something else if you're looking to play any of these jobs. DRK, AST and MCH are unlocked and start at level 30, so you can switch to these jobs without starting over at level 1 to get to level 30. Unlock these jobs, you'll still be level 30. RDM and SAM start at level 50. GNB and DNC are the latest additions to the game and they start at level 50.



Hunting Logs

Early leveling consists of completing hunting logs, which are challenges that give you XP for completing them. Any monster that completes a hunting log for you will have this icon next to them, so be sure to hunt these down.


hunting log




You will unlock dungeons at level 15 and after this point, dungeons become a viable way of leveling. It's also worth to do it once you have dungeons available in your duty menu, as they give you huge rewards each day.



And you can also buy food, items in town, they give you a small experience boost.



The biggest hurdle you need to overcome when you're first starting out in FFXIV is completing the main story quests line for the game. Each expansion has one and you will be gated from content until you finish them all. So your big goal is to get through the main story quests which will always be appeared in the top left corner of your screen.


quest line


Luckily you only need to do this once per character and doing so will give you enough XP to reach max level on one job. If you're extra lazy and have the dough, you can purchase level boost from the MOG station that will level one job and complete all the main story quests up to that level for you.


Now your primary mode of transport across Final Fantasy 14 will be the Aetheryte Crystals and the Ethernet. They're basically teleport locations and can be used freely. You must grab the Aetheryte Crystals as you travel about the world before you can teleport to them, but then you'll have them forever. And within major cities, the Ethernet is comprised of small Aetheryte Crystals. Jump around to in the city and this is helpful, because in most main cities you cannot get on your mount.


Your current main scenario quests will be in the top left corner of your screen. If you have an available quest for your current job, it will appear just below that. We can select these to bring up the map and teleport to where you need to go with ease. For the proudly lazy folks, there is a button in your character screen to automatically equip the best possible gear you have in your armory inventory and you can use this until you get higher levels.


You have two inventories in this game, your normal inventory and your armory chests, which will contain all your gear that's available for swapping and your regular inventories for other items. To repair your gear when you're traveling about, look for the hammer icon on your map indicating that an arms mender is located there.


hammer icon


If it has helped you get started into FFXIV, please leave a like and share it with your friends. In addition to FFXIV Gil, MmoGah also provide FFXIV power leveling services if you need.  

Copyright © 2006-2022 MmoGah.com. All rights reserved. All trademarks referenced herein are the properties of their respective owners.