News & Guides

WoW The War Within Release Date Revealed

By Penny
Published on 
Last updated on 

As Azeroth's heroes brace themselves for their next grand adventure, Blizzard Entertainment unveils "The War Within," the latest expansion for the iconic MMORPG, World of Warcraft. Scheduled for release on August 26, 2024, with early access beginning on August 23 for those who pre-order the Epic or Collector's editions, this expansion promises to take players on an unprecedented journey into the world beneath the world. If you are looking to stock up on gold for your adventures in "The War Within," consider using MmoGah, a reliable source of in-game currency.


The Setting: Khaz Algar

In the new expansion, players will explore the subterranean realm of Khaz Algar, divided into four distinct zones. The surface-level Isle of Dorn is the first landing point, lush and welcoming. The Ringing Deeps offers a mix of aquatic and volcanic caverns, while Hallowfall shines bright with a central crystal. Azj-Kahet stands as the nerubian society's pinnacle. Each zone promises unique adventures, rich with lore and challenges, as part of the Worldsoul Saga.


New Allied Race: The Earthen

The Earthen, a new Allied Race in The War Within expansion, are titan-forged beings of living stone. Players can unlock them after aiding their quest for harmony in Khaz Algar. With unique customizations like gem encrustations and vibrant skin tones, the Earthen offers fresh gameplay dynamics with racial traits like Azerite Surge and Hyper Productive, enhancing both combat and gathering. You can start your journey with the Earthen from level 10 in their capital, Dornogol, choosing either Alliance or Horde.


 New Allied Race: The Earthen


Gameplay Enhancements: Delves and Warbands

The expansion introduces "Delves," bite-sized world instances designed for solo play or small groups, accompanied by an NPC companion. Season 1 features none other than Brann Bronzebeard, offering players a chance to earn loot alongside this legendary explorer.


Warbands, a novel feature, revolutionizes character management across multiple accounts. It allows for shared banks, account-wide reputations, achievements, and more, streamlining the gameplay for those with numerous characters.


New Dungeons

In "The War Within," World of Warcraft introduces eight new dungeons and a raid. Each zone features a leveling dungeon, such as The Rookery in the Earthen's domain and The Stonevault in the Ringing Deeps. At level 80, dungeons like Cinderbrew Meadery and Darkflame Cleft offer unique challenges. The first raid, Nerub'ar Palace, confronts players with the Nerubian queen. Dungeons are woven into the storyline, enhancing the narrative experience.



In The War Within, players will experience a new flying mechanic called Skyriding. This feature will be available from the start in the Khaz Algar region and can be unlocked for stable flight mode after exploring the areas of The War Within and completing the campaign. Players can easily identify which mounts support Skyriding in the Warbands collection tab (Shift-P).


Hero Talent Trees: Customizing Your Champion

The expansion also rolls out Hero Talent Trees, offering three unique trees per class for enhanced customization. This system unlocks at Level 71, providing one talent point per level up to 80, allowing players to tailor their heroes to their playstyle.



With "The War Within," Blizzard continues to push the boundaries of World of Warcraft, offering veterans and newcomers alike a fresh and immersive experience. As the release date approaches, the excitement within the community is palpable. The war within beckons, and only the bravest will answer the call to adventure.

Was this helpful?