News & Guides

Mastering Character Progression in Diablo 4: A Comprehensive Guide

By i_ghori2023-03-06

Character progression systems are a crucial element of any RPG, providing players with a sense of accomplishment and motivation to continue playing. This is especially true for games designed to be replayed, where the ability to see your character grow and develop over time keeps things from getting repetitive and is an essential aspect of the experience.


Diablo 4, the latest installment in the beloved Diablo series, is no exception. The previous game in the series, Diablo 3, received criticism from the community for its lackluster character progression system. Thankfully, it seems that the developers have taken player feedback into account, as Diablo 4 features a range of new systems designed to make your time in-game more rewarding and satisfying.


As the game's open beta draws near, we at MMOGAH have put together another comprehensive guide to help you out with these new systems and make the most of your time in Diablo 4. From basic main stats to more advanced systems, our guide covers everything you need to know to understand character progression in this game. If you want to get ahead of the competition or simply are into doing some homework to ensure your character grows into a powerful force to be reckoned with, this is our guide to make things simple for you, so you start your journey towards becoming a Diablo 4 master!


Main Stats

In any RPG, main stats play a crucial role in determining your character's abilities and strengths. In Diablo 3, the main stats didn't matter as much, and your build ultimately came down to the gear you were using. This made things a little bland, as pretty much everyone in a specific class was using the same gear by the end game. Fortunately, Diablo 4 takes a different approach and places a greater emphasis on the main stats that are specific to each class. In D4, the developers have introduced a more rewarding main stat system that adds an extra layer of depth and strategy to character building.


For example, the melee class Barbarian benefits most from the Strength stat, while the Sorcerer benefits from Intelligence. This is because Intelligence enhances magical skill powers, which is more beneficial to the Sorcerer than it would be for a Barbarian. Meanwhile, Strength is crucial for the Barbarian, as it improves their melee attacks and the overall damage output of their simple yet hard-hitting skills.


It's worth noting that investing in your main stat is crucial in Diablo 4, as it provides both passive and active benefits that are specific to your class. So, when allocating your stat points, make sure to consider your playstyle so your main stats can enhance your ability to fight bosses and demolish mobs.


Whether you prefer to play as a melee brawler, a spellcasting Sorcerer, or any of the five classes, make sure to pay attention to these stats and reap the most benefits of your investment.


Renown System

Diablo 4 introduces a new feature called the Renown system, which rewards players for completing various activities in the game's overworld. This system allows players to progress through five levels by completing major areas and exploring the open world. Once you complete each level, you'll be rewarded with skill points, loot, and other valuable Diablo 4 items that grant you some extra satisfaction.


One of the unique features of the Renown system is that it's account-based, meaning that all of your characters will benefit from it. This makes it a great addition for both new and veteran players, as it rewards exploration and encourages players to try out different playstyles. The Renown System is a welcome addition that adds an extra layer of depth to the game's progression.


Altars of Lilith

The Altars of Lilith have not been featured in previous Diablo games, but they are included in the D4. Altars of Lilith are dedicated to the figure of Lilith, who is a female in Mesopotamian and Judaic mythology. These altars are shrines located throughout the open world and allow players to gain permanent buffs or skills by completing challenges. These buffs are specific to each class, allowing players to choose the ones that suit their build the best. The Altars of Lilith are spread, and completing challenges at these altars is a creative and fun way to quickly level up, especially if you are playing multiple characters.


Mastering Character Progression in Diablo 4 A Comprehensive Guide content1


All in all, they are a great addition to the game and will certainly make things more fun for pretty much the entire player base.


Paragon System

Arguably, the single most interesting addition to Diablo 4's character progression system is the Paragon System. The Paragon System is an end-game progression system that begins at level 50, allowing players to invest their Paragon points into Paragon Boards. These boards offer a wide variety of skills, buffs, and benefits that are supportive of different classes, giving players a whole new level of depth to the game.


After unlocking the boards as players progress through the game, they earn four points per level, which they can then invest in the Paragon Board and level up until they reach level 100. These boards have massive skill tiles that compound to give superior benefits, providing a really smart take by the developers to keep things simple for beginners while adding a lot of options for more experienced players who enjoy grinding and challenging themselves for the ultimate rewards.


Mastering Character Progression in Diablo 4 A Comprehensive Guide content2


The Paragon Boards can be attached to other boards through four gates, making them even more complex but, at the same time, a lot more fun for those willing to dive deep into the end game. Additionally, the Paragon Boards support a Glyph system that is built into the board, allowing players to give hefty buffs to skills that work well with them. Glyphs have a certain radius, but they are also upgradeable through various dungeons, letting players extend the radius however they like and essentially impart power to their more active skill tiles.


Overall, the Paragon System is a really cool addition to Diablo 4, making the game more accessible to newer players while also retaining the tryhard RPG feel that veterans desire.


As for the conclusion, whether you're a seasoned Diablo player or a newcomer to the franchise, these character progression systems are sure to add a new layer of excitement for anyone who decides to set foot in the world of this RPG.



Was this helpful?